What are the public holidays in the United Kingdom?

What are the public holidays in the United Kingdom?

In the United Kingdom, the calendar lists 8 public holidays (bank holidays).

If a public holiday falls on a weekend, it is substituted for the following Monday.

Year 2019

  • Tuesday January 1 (New Year's Day)
  • Friday April 19 (Good Friday)
  • Monday April 22 (Easter Monday)
  • Monday May 6 (May Day)
  • Monday May 27 (Late May Bank Holiday)
  • Monday August 26 (Summer Bank Holiday)
  • Wednesday, December 25 (Christmas Day)
  • Thursday, December 26 (Boxing Day)

Year 2020

  • Wednesday January 1 (New Year's Day)
  • Friday April 10 (Good Friday)
  • Monday April 13 (Easter Monday)
  • Friday May 8 (Early May bank holiday)
  • Monday 25 May (Spring Bank Holiday)
  • Monday August 31 (Summer Bank Holiday)
  • Friday, December 25 (Christmas Day)
  • Monday 28 December (Boxing Day)