What is the congestion zone?

The congestion zone of London (congestion charge zone) is a urban road toll concerning certain categories of motor vehicles, in certain districts from the city center.

The objective of the application of the congestion tax is to control traffic in the most central areas of the city in order to avoid massive agglomerations and reduce CO2 emissions.

The restriction and the amount of the tax are subject to times and days of the week.

Neighborhoods concerned:

  • Victoria
  • St James
  • Waterloo
  • Borough
  • City of London
  • Clerkenwell
  • Finsbury
  • Holborn
  • Bloomsbury
  • Soho
  • Mayfair

The congestion tax applies only to vehicles circulating in the districts concerned. Parking does not include the payment of tax.

The organization responsible for managing the congestion area is the London Transport Company (TfL).